Derby County go down Equality Street

IMG_0004

 

Date: 03/05/1986

Programme: Derby County vs Doncaster Rovers

I don’t know that I own a lot of football programmes that have a letters page – it’s just one of those things you don’t see much. I know I saw a request for pen-pals at Millwall once, but I don’t think in the 2000 St Mirren programmes I own anyone ever penned some thoughts. And very few letters have been printed on the thorny subject of mid 80s racism. Surinder Bains was certainly frustrated with the abuse she received at Derby games and wrote to the programme demanding answers…unfortunately the programme compiler has gone with this nuanced response: “Black woman fan complains yet again”…I’m not entirely sure that’s the best heading I’ve seen….let me take you down equality street, you never know the people you’ll meet…

Leave a Reply

